Who is Evelyn Waugh?

Evelyn Waugh

Arthur Evelyn St. John Waugh /wɔː/ (28 October 1903 – 10 April 1966), known as Evelyn Waugh, was an English writer of novels, biographies and travel books. He was also a prolific journalist and reviewer. His best-known works include his early satires Decline and Fall (1928) and A Handful of Dust (1934), his novel Brideshead Revisited (1945) and his trilogy of Second World War novels collectively known as Sword of Honour (1952–61). Waugh is widely recognised as one of the great prose stylists of the 20th century.

Read more about Evelyn Waugh.

Some articles on Evelyn Waugh:

Noblesse Oblige (book) - Contents - An Open Letter From Evelyn Waugh
... Evelyn Waugh wrote the third contribution, An open letter to the Honble Mrs ... (Nancy Mitford) on a very serious subject from Elvelyn Waugh, which also first appeared in Encounter ... Widely regarded as a master of style of the 20th century, Waugh, who was a great friend of Nancy Mitford, added his own thoughts to the class debate and points ...
Traditionalist Conservatism - Literary Traditionalists - Evelyn Waugh
... The British novelist and traditionalist Catholic Evelyn Waugh is often considered a traditionalist conservative ...
List Of Catholic Authors - European Languages - English Language
... on the "Catholic novel" became a force impossible to ignore, with leading novelists of the day, Evelyn Waugh and Graham Greene, converts both, dealing with ... towards becoming a novel writer' in the tradition of Evelyn Waugh and Graham Greene, her novels often focus on human evil and sin ... Auberon Waugh – son of Evelyn Waugh, comic novelist/columnist ...
20th Century In Literature - Interwar Period
... Lawrence - banned until 1963 Decline and Fall by Evelyn Waugh (England) Amerika by Franz Kafka - posthumous, first English translation in 1938 Plays Strange Interlude by Eugene O'Neill (USA) - Pulitzer ... detective novel 1930 Vile Bodies by Evelyn Waugh The Apes of God by Wyndham Lewis Brief Candles by Aldous Huxley - short stories As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner ... Romance by John Cowper Powys Stamboul Train by Graham Greene (England) Black Mischief by Evelyn Waugh Radetzky March by Joseph Roth (Austria) Jew Boy by Simon Blumenfeld (England ...

Famous quotes containing the words evelyn waugh and/or waugh:

    Don’t give your opinions about Art and the Purpose of Life. They are of little interest and, anyway, you can’t express them. Don’t analyse yourself. Give the relevant facts and let your readers make their own judgments. Stick to your story. It is not the most important subject in history but it is one about which you are uniquely qualified to speak.
    Evelyn Waugh (1903–1966)

    News is what a chap who doesn’t care much about anything wants to read. And it’s only news until he’s read it. After that it’s dead.
    —Evelyn Waugh (1903–1966)