Who is Evelyn Waugh?

Evelyn Waugh

Arthur Evelyn St. John Waugh /wɔː/ (28 October 1903 – 10 April 1966), known as Evelyn Waugh, was an English writer of novels, biographies and travel books. He was also a prolific journalist and reviewer. His best-known works include his early satires Decline and Fall (1928) and A Handful of Dust (1934), his novel Brideshead Revisited (1945) and his trilogy of Second World War novels collectively known as Sword of Honour (1952–61). Waugh is widely recognised as one of the great prose stylists of the 20th century.

Read more about Evelyn Waugh.

Some articles on Evelyn Waugh:

Noblesse Oblige (book) - Contents - An Open Letter From Evelyn Waugh
... Evelyn Waugh wrote the third contribution, An open letter to the Honble Mrs ... Mitford) on a very serious subject from Elvelyn Waugh, which also first appeared in Encounter ... Widely regarded as a master of style of the 20th century, Waugh, who was a great friend of Nancy Mitford, added his own thoughts to the class debate and points out that Nancy is a delightful trouble ...
20th Century In Literature - Interwar Period
... Lawrence - banned until 1963 Decline and Fall by Evelyn Waugh (England) Amerika by Franz Kafka - posthumous, first English translation in 1938 Plays Strange ... hard-boiled American detective novel 1930 Vile Bodies by Evelyn Waugh The Apes of God by Wyndham Lewis Brief Candles by Aldous Huxley - short stories As I Lay Dying by ... Stamboul Train by Graham Greene (England) Black Mischief by Evelyn Waugh Radetzky March by Joseph Roth (Austria) Jew Boy by Simon Blumenfeld (England) Poetry The Orators by W ...
Traditionalist Conservatism - Literary Traditionalists - Evelyn Waugh
... The British novelist and traditionalist Catholic Evelyn Waugh is often considered a traditionalist conservative ...
List Of Catholic Authors - European Languages - English Language
... novel" became a force impossible to ignore, with leading novelists of the day, Evelyn Waugh and Graham Greene, converts both, dealing with distinctively ... crucial in her development towards becoming a novel writer' in the tradition of Evelyn Waugh and Graham Greene, her novels often focus on human evil ... Auberon Waugh – son of Evelyn Waugh, comic novelist/columnist ...

Famous quotes containing the words evelyn waugh and/or waugh:

    It was announced that the trouble was not “malignant.”... It was a typical triumph of modern science to find the only part of Randolph that was not malignant and remove it.
    Evelyn Waugh (1903–1966)

    The human mind is inspired enough when it comes to inventing horrors; it is when it tries to invent a Heaven that it shows itself cloddish.
    —Evelyn Waugh (1903–1966)