Who is Evelyn Waugh?

Evelyn Waugh

Arthur Evelyn St. John Waugh /wɔː/ (28 October 1903 – 10 April 1966), known as Evelyn Waugh, was an English writer of novels, biographies and travel books. He was also a prolific journalist and reviewer. His best-known works include his early satires Decline and Fall (1928) and A Handful of Dust (1934), his novel Brideshead Revisited (1945) and his trilogy of Second World War novels collectively known as Sword of Honour (1952–61). Waugh is widely recognised as one of the great prose stylists of the 20th century.

Read more about Evelyn Waugh.

Some articles on Evelyn Waugh:

Traditionalist Conservatism - Literary Traditionalists - Evelyn Waugh
... The British novelist and traditionalist Catholic Evelyn Waugh is often considered a traditionalist conservative ...
List Of Catholic Authors - European Languages - English Language
... became a force impossible to ignore, with leading novelists of the day, Evelyn Waugh and Graham Greene, converts both, dealing with distinctively Catholic themes in their work ... becoming a novel writer' in the tradition of Evelyn Waugh and Graham Greene, her novels often focus on human evil and sin ... Auberon Waugh – son of Evelyn Waugh, comic novelist/columnist ...
20th Century In Literature - Interwar Period
... Lawrence - banned until 1963 Decline and Fall by Evelyn Waugh (England) Amerika by Franz Kafka - posthumous, first English translation in 1938 Plays Strange Interlude by ... detective novel 1930 Vile Bodies by Evelyn Waugh The Apes of God by Wyndham Lewis Brief Candles by Aldous Huxley - short stories As I Lay Dying by William Faulkner Narcissus and ... by Graham Greene (England) Black Mischief by Evelyn Waugh Radetzky March by Joseph Roth (Austria) Jew Boy by Simon Blumenfeld (England) Poetry The Orators by W ...
Noblesse Oblige (book) - Contents - An Open Letter From Evelyn Waugh
... Evelyn Waugh wrote the third contribution, An open letter to the Honble Mrs ... Peter Rodd (Nancy Mitford) on a very serious subject from Elvelyn Waugh, which also first appeared in Encounter ... Widely regarded as a master of style of the 20th century, Waugh, who was a great friend of Nancy Mitford, added his own thoughts to the class debate and points out that ...

Famous quotes containing the words evelyn waugh and/or waugh:

    If, for instance, they have heard something from the postman, they attribute it to “a semi-official statement”; if they have fallen into conversation with a stranger at a bar, they can conscientiously describe him as “a source that has hitherto proved unimpeachable.” It is only when the journalist is reporting a whim of his own, and one to which he attaches minor importance, that he defines it as the opinion of “well-informed circles.”
    Evelyn Waugh (1903–1966)

    Anyone who has been to an English public school will always feel comparatively at home in prison. It is the people brought up in the gay intimacy of the slums ... who find prison so soul-destroying.
    —Evelyn Waugh (1903–1966)